• Nominations may be submitted beginning at 8 a.m. CT on October 1, 2019.
  • Nominations will close at 5 p.m. CT on November 8, 2019. Nominations received after that time will not be considered.
  • Nominations must be submitted using the Caregiver of the Year Award Nomination Form according to the guidelines on the form.
  • Franchisees may submit up to five nominations from each Right at Home territory.
  • All nominees will receive a certificate of recognition from the Corporate Office.
  • All certificates will be mailed to the nominating offices by Friday, November 29, 2019.

Nomination Criteria

To be nominated, caregivers must:

  • Provide direct care to clients as a primary function of their job.
  • Have at least one year of service OR 1,500 hours of caregiving experience with Right at Home.
  • Consistently follow company policies and have consistent attendance.

Additionally, nominated caregivers should exhibit the following criteria:

  • Actively demonstrates pride in being a Right at Home caregiver.
  • Is passionate about providing extraordinary care to clients.
  • Exemplifies the qualities of a professional caregiver.
  • Demonstrates teamwork and willingness to help other caregivers and staff.
  • Selflessly serves others in the course of their duties.
  • Holds others to a higher standard of care.
  • Is or has been recognized or praised by clients and families for his/her efforts.
  • Has been recognized by your local Caregiver recognition program, e.g., Caregiver of the Week/Month.


October 1, 2019
Nominations Open at 8 a.m. CT

November 8, 2019
Nominations Close at 5 p.m.CT

January 2020
Finalists (20) Selected and Contacted
Region and National Winners Selected

February 2020
Region Winners Announced

Home Improvement 2020
National Caregiver of the Year Winner Announced

Nomination Guidelines

Questions regarding the Caregiver of the Year program should be directed to Kate Oelke Turner.

The Right at Home Caregiver of the Year award honors the caregivers who provide excellent service to our clients every day. The winners of this award exemplify the Right at Home mission: To improve the quality of life for those we serve.

Nomination Requirements

Completed nomination forms must be received no later than 5 p.m. CT on November 8, 2019. Nominations received after the deadline will not be accepted.

All nominees must demonstrate one or more of the following characteristics:

  • Clear demonstration of empathy and compassion toward those receiving care.
  • Ability to relate to and interact with care recipients and other care providers in ways that encourage the growth and development of all.
  • Skilled in performing their caregiving duties.
  • Participation in continuing education programs.
  • Willingness to take on extra shifts when asked.

To be considered for this award, the caregiver must:

  • Have at least one year of service OR 1,500 hours of caregiving experience with Right at Home.
  • Actively seek to create extraordinary experiences for clients and their families.
  • Thoroughly follow and document their client’s care plan.
  • Position Right at Home as a local employer and provider of choice.
  • Serves as a brand ambassador for Right at Home in the community.
  • Be a team player: Serve as a mentor to their peers and put the goals of the team before themselves.