Nominations Are Now Closed

Nomination Process

  • Nominations may be submitted beginning at 8 a.m. CT on Monday, October 17, 2022.
  • Nominations will close at 5 p.m. CT on Friday, November 18, 2022. Nominations received after that time will not be considered.
  • Nominations must be submitted using the National Caregiver of the Year Award Nomination Form according to the guidelines on the form.
  • Franchisees may submit one nomination from each Right at Home territory owned. (This means that if you own 4 territories, you can submit up to 4 nominations.)
  • All Franchise offices will receive their certificate for their nominee.

Nomination Considerations

To be nominated, a caregiver must:

  • Provide direct care to clients as a primary function of their job.
  • Have 600 hours of caregiving experience with Right at Home.
  • Consistently follow company policies and have consistent attendance.

Additionally, a nominated caregiver should exhibit the following considerations:

  • Actively demonstrates pride in being a Right at Home caregiver.
  • Is passionate about providing extraordinary care to clients.
  • Exemplifies the qualities of a professional caregiver.
  • Clearly demonstrates teamwork and a willingness to help other caregivers and office staff.
  • Selflessly serves others in the course of their duties.
  • Holds others to a higher standard of care.
  • Has been praised for their efforts by clients and families.
  • Has been recognized by your local caregiver recognition program, e.g., Caregiver of the Week/Month.


October 2022

October 17, 2022
Nominations open at 8 a.m. CT

November 2022

November 18, 2022
Nominations close at 5 p.m. CT

Nominations reviewed by the Right at Home Committee, consisting of Strategic Leadership Council members; Right at Home Committee selects the top 3 Finalists in each Region

December 2022

Corporate’s Employee Experience Team notifies Finalist offices and requests testimonials

Finalist offices obtain testimonials and submit them to the Corporate Office

January 2023
Region and National Winners selected by the Community Committee

Offices of Region and National Winners notified of their winning caregivers

February 2023
Video productions for Region and National Winners

April 2023

Home Improvement 2023 – National and Region Caregivers of the Year announced

Nomination Guidelines

Questions regarding the Caregiver of the Year program should be directed to Corporate’s Employee Experience Team at [email protected].

The Right at Home Caregiver of the Year award honors the caregivers who provide extraordinary service to clients every day. The recipients of this award exemplify the Right at Home mission: To improve the quality of life for those we serve.

Nomination Requirements

Completed nomination forms must be received no later than 5 p.m. CT on November 18, 2022. Nominations received after the deadline will not be accepted.

The nominee must demonstrate one or more of the following characteristics:

  • Clear expression of empathy and compassion toward clients receiving care.
  • Ability to relate to and interact with care recipients and other care providers in ways that encourage the growth and development of all.
  • Skilled in performing their caregiving duties.
  • Participation in continuing education programs.
  • Willingness to take on extra shifts when asked.
  • Willingness to go above and beyond.

To be considered for this award, the caregiver must:

  • Have at least 600 hours of caregiving experience with Right at Home.
  • Actively seek to create extraordinary experiences for clients and their families.
  • Thoroughly follow and document the client’s care plan, and bring forward to the office staff recommended changes to it.
  • Position Right at Home as a local employer and provider of choice.
  • Be a team player: Serve as a mentor to their peers and put the goals of the team before themselves.

Selection Process

There are two distinct groups involved in selecting winners of the Caregiver of the Year program.

  1. Right at Home Committee – representatives from the Right at Home Strategic Leadership Council (SLC).
  2. Community Committee – professionals from senior care, health care and caregiving support organizations that understand the nature of the caregiver role.

Eight SLC members of the Right at Home Committee are paired up for the nominee review process, and each pairing is given two Regions’ nominations to review. The nominations each SLC pair receives are not inclusive of their own represented, respective Regions. Together, the pair selects the top three nominees for the Regions they are assigned. All nominations are removed of any identifying information so the nominating offices remain anonymous.

The selection process is conducted in several stages as follows:

Stage 1 – Right at Home Corporate Office Initial Review

  • The Corporate Office reviews all nominations to ensure nominees meet the selection criteria and removes names, locations and any other proprietary information.

Stage 2 – Right at Home Committee Nominee Review and Top 3 Selection

  • The Right at Home Committee filters the valid nominations based on thoroughness of the nomination and caregiver accomplishments, and presents the Community Committee with three anonymous nominations per Region.

Stage 3 – Community Committee Review and Selection

  • The Community Committee reviews the anonymous nominations and selects one Winner from each Region and one National Winner, based on nomination criteria using a Rubric rating tool and using testimonials in consideration from clients and loved ones.

Selection Criteria

Nominations will be judged in the following categories:

  • Character: What makes this caregiver extraordinary? How does this individual strive to develop themselves and grow on a personal and professional level?
  • Client Impact: How has this caregiver provided an extraordinary client experience and improved the quality life for those they serve?
  • Team Player: Does this caregiver serve as a mentor to their peers and put the goals of the team before themselves? Are they responsive when called and do they portray a positive attitude? 
  • Resilience: Does this caregiver rise above the everyday challenges to provide exceptional care for clients? How did this caregiver successfully adapt to difficult experiences—mentally, emotionally and/or physically—to meet the demands of the job?

If selected as a Regional Finalist for National Caregiver of the Year, the Franchisee/caregiver must:

  1. Provide written testimonials from the clients or their advocates in order for the caregiver to be considered.
  2. Agree to be represented in photographs and videos, and to be included in any and all public relations activities and media campaigns.

If selected as the National Caregiver of the Year, the caregiver is invited to receive the award in person at Home Improvement.